

A brief chronology of Coalition Government in India:

Period	Coalition	Prime Minister (Party)
1977-1979	Janata Party	Morarji Desai (Congress (O))
1979-1980	Janta Party (Secular)	Charan Singh (Janata (S))
1989-1990	National Front	V.P Singh (Janata Dal)
1990-1991	Janata Dal (Socialist) or Samajwadi Janata	Chandra Shekar (Janata Dal (S) or Samajwadi
	Party	Party)
1996-1997	United Front	HD Deve Gowda (Janata Dal)
1997-1998	United Front	I.K Gujral (Janata Dal)
1997-1998	BJP-led Coalition	A.B. Vajpayee (BJP)
1999-2004	National Democratic Alliance (NDA)	A.B. Vajpayee (BJP)
2004-2009	United Progressive Alliance (UPA)	Manmohan Singh (Congress)
2009-2014	United Progressive Alliance – II (UPA-II)	Manmohan Singh (Congress)
2014-2019	National Democratic Alliance (NDA)	Narendra Modi (BJP)
2019-present	National Democratic Alliance (NDA)	Narendra Modi (BJP)

Reorganisation of States in India

Formation of States

Andhra Pradesh

1953 – The state of Andhra Pradesh Act of 1953 created the state taking some area from the State of Madras.

Gujarat and Maharashtra

1960 – Bombay was divided into two States i.e., Maharashtra and Gujarat by the Bombay (Reorganization) Act, of 1960 and Gujarat became the 15th state.

Kerala

Created by the State Reorganization Act, of 1956. It comprised Travancore and Cochin areas.

Karnataka

Mysore State (Alteration of Name) Act, 1973 Changed the name of the state of Mysore to that of the State of Karnataka.

Dadra and Nagar Haveli

This territory was ruled by the Portuguese until it was liberated in 1954. Till 1961, the administration of the Dadar & Nagar Haveli was carried out by the administrator and Constitutional Amendment Act of 1961, made it the union territory.

Puducherry

Puducherry's territory includes the former French settlements in India known as Puducherry, Karaikal, Mahe, and Yanam 1954, the French handed over this territory to India. Till 1962

 Forum Learning Centre:
 Delhi - 2nd Floor, IAPL House, 19 Pusa Road, Karol Bagh, New Delhi - 110005
 Patna - 2nd floor, AG Palace, E Boring Canal

 Road, Patna, Bihar 800001
 Hyderabad - 1st & 2nd Floor, SM Plaza, RTC X Rd, Indira Park Road, Jawahar Nagar, Hyderabad, Telangana 500020

 9311740400, 9311740900
 https://academy.forumias.com



Puducherry was administered as an "acquired territory" with the 14th Constitutional Amendment Act making it a union territory.

Nagaland

State of Nagaland Act, 1962, Created the new State of Nagaland (16th state) by taking out the Naga Hills area from Assam especially.

Haryana

1966 – the State of Punjab was bifurcated to create the 17th state of the Indian Union and the union territory of Chandigarh.

Himachal Pradesh

1970 – Himachal Pradesh were elevated to the status of State by the State of Himachal Pradesh Act, of 1970.

Manipur, Tripura and Meghalaya

With the enactment of the North-Eastern Areas (Reorganization) Act of 1971. Manipur, Tripura and Meghalaya got the status of 19th, 20th and 21st states, at the same time two new union territories Mizoram and Arunachal Pradesh carved out of the territories of Assam.

Sikkim

35th Constitutional Amendment Act (1974) – Sikkim was first given the status of 'Associate State'. Parliament Enacted the 36th Amendment Act of 1975, giving it the status of full State.

Mizoram

State of Mizoram Act, 1986, gave Mizoram the status of a state.

Arunachal Pradesh

State of Arunachal Pradesh Act, 1986 gave it the status of state. Since 1972 Arunachal Pradesh was a union territory.